2020 UCR Summer Physics Teacher Academy

SPTA 2020 is hosted by the UCR Department of Physics & Astronomy and California Science Project. Lectures will be delivered via Zoom.

Schedule of Presentations

Monday, June 22

9:00am Opening Chair's Welcome Prof. Ken Barish
9:40am Teaching Physics Implementing the CA NGSS Considerations for Teaching and Learning Dr. Maria Simani
10:50am Teaching Physics Low Cost, Impactful Physics Demonstrations for K-12 Prof. Nathan Gabor

Tuesday, June 23

9:00am Teaching Physics Introduction to PhETs (online demos) Prof. Michael Anderson
10:20am Research Lecture Black Holes Prof. Simeon Bird
11:00am Physics Refresher Work/Energy Prof. Brian Siana
Wednesday, June 24
9:00am Research Lecture Dark Matter Prof. Hai-Bo Yu
9:40am Research Lecture Bursty Star Formation Prof. Brian Siana
10:30am Panel Discussion Challenges in Physics Education All Participants
Thursday, June 25
9:00am Teaching Physics iPhone Calling for an Uber Prof. Harry Tom
10:20am Research Lecture Galaxies Prof. Laura Sales
11:00am Research Lecture Controlling Quantum Systems Prof. Borge Hemmerling
Friday, June 26
9:00am Physics Refresher Force and Motion Prof. Michael Anderson
10:20am Research Lecture Th Origin of the Universe Prof. Anson D'Aloisio
11:00am Teaching Physics Why Should Students Take Physics Prof. Harry Tom


First Name Last Name School Name District Name
David Bates Santiago High School Corona Norco Unified School District
Scott Carter Ayala High School Chino Valley Unified School District (CVUSD)
Adam Christensen King HS Riverside Unified
Dale Cox Rancho Verde Val Verde Unified
Remy Demont Fairmont Preparatory Academy Private School
Chris Dudzinski Summit High Fontana Unified
Divina Elbo Canyon Springs HS Moreno Valley Unified School District
Tyler Haglund Apple Valley High School Apple Valley Unified
Mark Hartsock Mojave Jr/Sr High School Mojave Unified School District
Marian Iskandar CDOHS CJUHSD
Mario Juanillo Hesperia High School Hesperia Unified School District
Marlene Kent Heartland Inspire Charter School
Cuong Luu Duarte High School Duarte Unified School District
Melissa Marcucci Ceres High School Ceres USD
Salvador Martinez Valley View High School Moreno Valley Unified
Jeremiah Newhouse Arroyo Valley High School San Bernardino City Unified School District
Lakshmi Pillalamarri Arroyo Valley High School SBCUSD
Steven Rodriguez Jurupa Hills High School Fontana Unified School District
Dona Sisk Inspire School South District
Josh Stevens Xavier College Prep We are a private Jesuit School
Jeffrey Sum Santiago High School Corona-Norco USD
Lena Van Nuview Bridge Early College High School Nuview Union School Dristrict
Cynthia Velez Eisenhower High School Rialto Unified School District
Julissa Villarreal Delano High School Delano Joint Union
Jason Wright Cater High School Rialto

Previous years


Contact Information

Please e-mail Professor Yu () or Dr. Maria Simani () for more information.

This website was designed by and is maintained by Professor Flip Tanedo ().

Ucr Logo White © UC Riverside Physics. All rights reserved.